The Guntur Recreation Club was formed on 07.04.1951 i.e. , on the Telugu New years day. An application of the Club affiliating the same with the then Madras Cricket Association has been sent. The Madras Cricket Association rejected the application of the Club on the plea that their membership already exceeded hundred. The Committee of the Guntur Recreation Club felt it very badly and wanted to find ways and means for forming a separate Cricket Association for the Andhra area.

The Committee of Guntur Recreation Club authorized the then Joint Secretary of the club Sri S. Venunadha Rao to proceed further in the matter. On 07.05.1951 a letter was written to Sri C.K.Nayudu to his Indore address for his views about the formation of a separate Cricket Association for Andhra area. C.K. Nayudu agreed with the proposal and promptly sent his reply on 15.05.1951 with instructions to contact the leading clubs, institutions and cricket lovers of the Andhra area for eliciting their views on the subject. The response for the circular was very good and in favour of a separate Cricket Association for Andhra.

In the meantime this has gone to the notice of the Madras Cricket Association. Viewing it very seriously the then secretary of the Madras Cricket Association sent an antedated letter to the Guntur Recreation Club granting affiliation to the club with the Madras Cricket Association. The committee of the Guntur Recreation Club overlooked the grant of affiliation to the club and directed Mr. S. Venunadharao to go ahead with the formation of a separate Cricket Association for Andhra area.

Sri C.K. Nayudu was again contacted and apprised him of the favourable replies received from the club and educational institutions for the circulars sent by the club and the replies received from the Madras Cricket Association. C.k. Nayudu was very happy about the outcome of the efforts, further giving his advice to form an Organizing Committee.

The following organizing committee was constituted there in.

Sri B.Ch. Narayana Murthy - President Dr. C. Ramdas - Vice President Sri S. Narayana Rao - Vice President Sri F. Winstanley - Treasurer Sri S. Venunadha Rao - Organising Secretary Sri C. SankarRao - Member Sri P. Srinivasamurthy - Member Sri Paul Jairaj - Member Sri K.S. Subbaiah Pilly - Member

The organizing committee which met in the Premises of the officer Club Guntur, decided to name the Association as “ CRICKET ASSOCIATION OF ANDHRA “ on the pattern of the “ CRICKET ASSOCIATION OF BENGAL “. An emblem with “POORNA KUMBHA” in the center , two lions sitting on either side of it, with the words “ ANDHRA” written under-neath it , has been finalized.

Sri C.K. Nayudu was again contacted and informed of the further developments regarding the formation of a separate Cricket Association for Andhra area and requested him to fix a date for the convention and also to inaugurate the same. He was further requested to play in the cricket match arranged to commemorate the event. 05.02.1953 has been fixed as the date for the convention and 06.02.1953 has been fixed as the date to play a cricket match between C.K. Nayudu XI (VS) C.S. Nayudu Xl.

The organizing committee also considered the suggestion of its President about changing the name of the Association from “CRICKET ASSOCIATION OF ANDHRA “to “THE ANDHRA CRICKET ASSOCIATION”. The new emblem with “POORNAKUMBHAM” in centre, encircled by Dharma Chakra Surrounded by lotus leaves with the letters “ ANDHRA CRICKET ASSOCIATION” written underneath, it has been approved.

Exactly at 10.00 A.M on 05.02.1953 the convention was inaugurated by C.k. Nayudu amidst cheers of the well represented gathering from all over Andhra in the premises of the “SRI EKA DANDAYYA PANTULU HALL” putting an end to the hazardous task undertaken by the organizing committee for the formation of a separate cricket Association for the Andhra area from 1951 to 1953.

Taken From “Who is Who in Andhra Cricket”

By Late Sri S. Venunadha Rao – Statistician.